nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
More Than 60 Days Since Application Submitted

The BCI is not currently experiencing any delays in processing applications. If your money order/cashier’s check has been cashed, the BCI has received your application. The BCI issues the license – or a denial letter – within 60 days of receipt of a satisfactorily completed application form. If the form was returned to you for correction, the 60 days starts when the corrected application form is received by BCI. If it has been more than 60 days since a satisfactorily completed application was submitted to the BCI and you have not received the license or a denial letter, you can send a letter to the BCI to let us know that you have not received anything. Your letter must include your full name, date of birth and current mailing address. Send it to:

BCI-CWL
PO Box 1054
Bismarck ND 58502

Write “OVER 60 DAYS” on the front of the envelope.

When we receive the letter, we will check our records to determine whether the application was received, on what date, and if was properly completed. If there are problems, we will return the application to you for correction (the 60 days starts over when you return the corrected application to the BCI). If the license already issued, we will assume it has been lost in the mail and will re-issue the license to the address listed on the application form.

For applicants who have lived or worked outside North Dakota, if it is necessary to verify information with another state there may be short delays in processing your application. We appreciate your patience.

Sorry, we cannot accept telephone or email inquiries OR respond to the letters we receive. State law prohibits the BCI from providing information about the status of an application to anyone, including the applicant.  Thank you!

* Once your current license expires, you cannot carry concealed until you receive the new license.

Class 2 license holders: Provided you submitted the application for renewal before the license expiration date, you do not have to do any testing even if the license expires while the renewal application is being processed.